Preparing for reapplication.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Donald Kimball

Yale thing?
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My cycle has begun to peter out. I've had 7 interviews, 3 great waitlists, but also 1 **** waitlist and 3 rejections from my top choices. I'm hoping for the best, but also preparing for another cycle.

I'm an NC resident, 3.66 cGPA, 3.6 sGPA, 36 MCAT.

~80 hours clinical volunteering in a psych ward and as a hospital clown in the children's hospital during college
~60 hours volunteering as an esl tutor during college
~70 hours shadowing an orthopedic surgeon after graduating

Took a gap year after graduating in 2012, suffered an injury that limited my ability to do much aside from work, physical therapy, and some shadowing.

Currently working full-time at an engineering firm, teaching some classes at my gym for members with injuries similar to my own, hanging out with patients in a nursing home/adult day care, trying to shadow a greater variety of doctors (pediatrician, EM), and about to start an EMT-B course.

I think my biggest drawbacks this cycle were a mediocre GPA and weak extracurriculars that were pretty much box-checking and also not varied enough to expose me to much of medicine.

I am trying to remedy the latter, but I will not be able to escape the box-checking perception. I'd appreciate any advice on my situation and would love to hear your guys' opinions on how I should move forward.

Members don't see this ad.

My cycle has begun to peter out. I've had 7 interviews, 3 great waitlists, but also 1 **** waitlist and 3 rejections from my top choices. I'm hoping for the best, but also preparing for another cycle.

I'm an NC resident, 3.66 cGPA, 3.6 sGPA, 36 MCAT.

~80 hours clinical volunteering in a psych ward and as a hospital clown in the children's hospital during college