Professional Liability Insurance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

child_psych123

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am deciding between the Trust and American Professional Agency. I know that the American Professional Agency is currently being endorsed by the APA, but I know that prior to that, the Trust was. Does anyone have experience with either of these? Any suggestions? This is my first time applying for liability insurance, so I am not even sure what factors I should be considering in making this decision. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I've had both, I've had colleagues who have had both. I haven't heard anyone mention any significant differences. From everything I've heard, they're essentially equivalent.

My caveat, I've never had to personally interact with either, so don't have any personal experience having to use them to deal with an issue.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I've gotten mine through the trust for many years. Rates all seem pretty similar. Never needed had to contact them for a claim, but when I needed stuff (e.g., a copy of proof of payment for previous years) they helped me out right away.

Reactions: 2 users
I have personally used the trust's confidential consultation line and been impressed. 5/5. They keep my business because of that. Also, because I have had them for years and am lazy. Haven't felt the need to go elsewhere, even if it saves a buck or two right now. Maybe later in my career if rates get more expensive.

Reactions: 2 users
I've been using Trust and no complaints from my end. All customer service reps have been very helpful.

Reactions: 1 user