Progression of surgical training

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Treg

Surgeon in training
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
As a student I have been given the opportunity to scrub for a lot of cases, and I am always amazed at the skill/confidence level difference between 1st/2nd year residents and the chief residents/fellows. Can someone outline how the training changes over time? Are the first two years spent mostly watching and helping open/close the incision? When do people do their first open/lap chole? Their first anastemosis? I am just starting out but I am intrigued at the process of becoming a skilled surgeon. Thanks :) Treg

Members don't see this ad.

Treg said:
As a student I have been given the opportunity to scrub for a lot of cases, and I am always amazed at the skill/confidence level difference between 1st/2nd year residents and the chief residents/fellows. Can someone outline how the training changes over time? Are the first two years spent mostly watching and helping open/close the incision? When do people do their first open/lap chole? Their first anastemosis? I am just starting out but I am intrigued at the process of becoming a skilled surgeon. Thanks :) Treg

It depends on the program and "luck of the draw". Conventional wisdom has it that at academic programs you spend most of your 1st and 2nd year learning pre and post op management of surgical patients, with less OR time but that in community programs you spend more time in the OR and less in the ICU and on the wards. However, this is a stereotype and varies between programs, not university vs community.