Prospective international applicant seeking advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

discombobulated

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

So, I'm new to the forum, and am looking for some input on this little situation of mine. Any advice is much appreciated- thanks in advance! :)

I'm currently a sophomore at an Ivy League school looking at MD/PhD programs in the US down the line. I'm a Canadian citizen, and from what I've read, the odds aren't great; only a handful of schools even consider international applications, and some of the top places to do research in my field admit between zero and one international applicant every year. In fact, my major advisor recently told me to "not count on it".

The good news is that I'm doing reasonably well: as a chemistry major, my GPA will be around ~4.1 after 3 semesters (A+ counts as 4.33 here), and I've taken 6-7 courses every term while doing lab work. All my pre-med requirements should also be done by the end of this term. I'm taking a couple classes in the grad school right now, with a few more next semester. Ideally, I would be reducing my coursework in my junior/senior years so I can do research close to full-time.

I'm currently working in a molecular biology lab. I joined first week of freshman year before deciding on the chem major, but it's something I enjoy and the project is going slowly but well. I do have plans, however, to transition into organic chemistry, something I want to pursue in graduate school.

I guess my main question is what I should do in the next couple of years to make my chances as good as they can be. Should I take just a couple classes and focus on lab work for 2 years? Take more grad courses? Double major in biology? (I'm actually only a few courses short)

And, if things are looking glum, what kind of back-up plans should I make?