Prospective MD/PHD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nblarson

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would first just like to say that I love this forum and I've been all over it asking various pertinent questions to my situation, and above all thank you all for taking the time to help out people such as myself.

That being said, a little about myself.... I graduated last year from a prestigious LAC with a degree in mathematics and applied statistics, along with a decent background in general science coursework (I was rather promiscuous in my academic comings and goings). I was a very good student, graduated magna cum laude with departmental distinction, a 3.7 overall GPA with a 3.88 science GPA and never received a grade below a B+. I did a summer VIGRE internship working in an interdisciplinary research group studying environmental effects on animals, a short stint as a intern at the WHO in Geneva working on vaccine data, and a year-long NSF funded research fellowship my senior year working on statistical genetics.

I will start a Ph.D. track program this fall in a interdisciplinary program studying statistics and computational biology under an NSF-IGERT program, which will place me on a lab rotation schedule where I will work in 3 month stints in various university labs ranging in specialty from animal proteomics to HIV genome research.

Well, this is all well and good, but I've been thinking a lot lately and realized that while I'm good at numbers, I love wet-lab experiences and more than anything want to do research in medical applications, notably oncology (hence all the genetics-oriented research) and really think a MD/PHD route would be a better way to go.