Prospects for 09 Admissions

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by GT500, May 14, 2008.

1. GT500

GT500 Accepted Pharmacy Student

Pre-Pharmacy
    I would greatly appreciate, especially if you are a pharmacy student, if you could give me an honest and forthright assessment on what my chances are to get an interview and to get accepted into my top choices for fall 09. I am an IL resident and limiting myself to in-state schools.

Midwestern CCP
    (2400 applications received possibly more in 08: 200 accepted)
    Typical Academic Stats of those accepted: 3.42 GPA, 82 PCAT
    Rolling Admissions

UIC
    Typical Academic Stats of those accepted: 3.5+, 80-90 PCAT, 70% of those accepted have a B.S. degree
    Non-rolling admissions
    Smaller class size

I might apply to Chicago State University also.

My Stats
    3.72 GPA, 3.64 sGPA, 58 PCAT, BS in Biochemistry Spring 09

I am entering into my senior year in college and I have only participated in one club, science club, which probably will not help me very much. I do not have any pharmacy experience and currently I am studying to improve my PCAT score, especially my vocab and reading scores which are low, in June. I will have strong recommendations from my science professors. My chemistry professor I have known for 2 years because I have taken general chem and P. Chem with him. I have done really well in Gen Chem I and II (got an A both semesters) and in P. Chem got an (A, A-), not sure if taking P. Chem will matter to adcoms though. It looks like the PCAT is holding me back and I intend to study about 4-5 hours a day for it until June 21st using a variety of books and practice questions for each section. I wanted to give the whole story and situation so you could give me a better assessment and maybe provide some advice. Thanks for your support.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. RxWildcat

RxWildcat Julius Randle BEASTMODE!
    Moderator Emeritus

Pharmacist