PSAT/SAT help and adivce?

bailey42

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

Today I got my PSAT scores back...and I must say I'm a little disappointed. My scores are as follows:

Critical Reading: 68 (99% percentile for sophomores)
Math: 59 :eek: (89% for sophomores)
Writing: 67 (99% for sophomores)

I was hoping to get at least in the 70s range for each category, since I averaged about a 210 on the practice tests I took. Also, I was wondering what the percentile deal is about...and why do they make it seem like I did much better than what my scores say? Sorry, I'm a bit inexperienced with standardized tests like this :oops:.

I'm only a sophomore, so I know I have another year to practice, but I was wondering what you guys recommend for next year. Prep classes? Practice books? I heard Kaplan is an overrated source...is that true? Also just to get an idea, roughly how much time do you recommend to take to study for the SAT?

I also was wondering, when it comes time to apply to colleges, do they see/take into account your percentile for your grade, or do they just look at the raw scores? According to the percentile I was placed in, I did very well, but my actual scores, on the other hand, are not up to par.

I know I shouldn't really be freaking out about this now, but I am :rolleyes: Sorry for the long post and any help is appreciated.:D

Members don't see this ad.

Don't worry so much. You're a sophomore and still have plenty of time to improve your scores. A 194 cumulative for a sophomore is pretty good anyway. With some prepping, you should be able to get at least Commended status on the PSAT as a junior.