Psych GRE Scores - To send or not to send

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lookitssara

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I took the psych GRE and did...not super well, scoring a 649 I think, which was 64th percentile.

Some schools I'm applying tosay something like "subject test helpful but not required". I was a psych undergrad major (well, it was my secondary major, which means I took all the req'ed courses) and have a 4.0 psych GPA (3.95 other).

So...should I send them?

Members don't see this ad.

From what I've heard, there isn't much variance on the psych subject test, so you're probably fine. But check the average score on the full disclosure on the website if they list it.

I took the psych GRE and did...not super well, scoring a 649 I think, which was 64th percentile.

Some schools I'm applying tosay something like "subject test helpful but not required". I was a psych undergrad major (well, it was my secondary major, which means I took all the req'ed courses) and have a 4.0 psych GPA (3.95 other).

So...should I send them?

650 is a decent score, don't worry about it. if you crack a 600 you're good to go.

Members don't see this ad :)
650 is a decent score, don't worry about it. if you crack a 600 you're good to go.

I'd agree, especially considering your high GPA. If you had a mediocre GPA in psych, then the GRE could play a more important role in counteracting that and convincing schools you know your stuff. Even then, 650 is a respectable score.

I was wondering how everyone prepared for the subject test, and how much time you put into it? I graduated as a psych major (3.9 psych GPA) in 2008, and have strong general GRE scores, I am just trying to gauge how much prep is really necessary for the subject test? Thanks all!

I was terrible and didn't study at all, aside from taking maybe two practice tests. I did just fine, too.