Public Health vs Shelter Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

morgimiester

UCD SVM C/O 2019
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

So I was hoping someone with more knowledge could chime in on this dilemma, because I've been hunting around everywhere and haven't seen anyone with a similar question. I'm very interested in public health and will apply to the Saul T. Wilson scholarship program (I'm a first year veterinary student), but I am also interested in shelter medicine. The Saul T. Wilson scholarship would require me to work exclusively in public health for APHIS for 3 years post-grad. However, I have heard a lot about how, if you ever want to go into clinical practice, it's crucial to build clinical skills right after graduation (so the things you learned in veterinary school don't fall out of your brain). I was wondering what you all think - how hard would it be to get back into clinical practice (this is the worst case scenario in which I decide I no longer want to continue in the public health field) three years out from graduation? I'd consider doing a shelter med/small animal clinical internship to build clinical skills, but also don't know if I would be competitive for these types of internships after working in public health. Any advice is welcome!

Members don't see this ad.

Just because you are working at APHIS doesn't mean you can't work in clinical practice as well. You could get a part-time job on the weekends at a vet practice or even pick up a shift or two at a local ER until you decide exactly what you want your career to be.

Reactions: 1 user
Just because you are working at APHIS doesn't mean you can't work in clinical practice as well. You could get a part-time job on the weekends at a vet practice or even pick up a shift or two at a local ER until you decide exactly what you want your career to be.