Public Service Loan Forgiveness for Student Loans

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pianopeep

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Summary: Will this PSLF/PAYE plan work? BTW, please keep any judgmental political/ethical views at a minimum.

I owe about $150K in Direct Stafford Loans. I'm a pharmacist at a state hospital that pays me about $100K. I've been there 6 months and I really like my position so I wouldn't mind staying. Apparently, I qualify for the Pay as You Earn plan (PAYE) and it lets me pay about $700/month.

I plan on utilizing the Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) program after 10 years. Basically, if I work for any government or non-profit for 10 years full time while making the above monthly payments, the rest of my student loans are forgiven tax free. I checked with my hospital's HR and they filled out a form that said they qualify as non-profit *and* government. Since most hospitals are non-profit, I don't think I'd have a problem meeting the requirements if I ever wanted to branch out elsewhere. After 10 years, I'd have paid $84K and the rest would be forgiven tax free.

Let me know your thoughts about my plan if it's correct and feasible. My biggest concern is if the loan forgiveness program will still be in place 10 years from now. Gonna see what happens in 2017 when the first batch of student loans are eligible to be forgiven (law was enacted in 2007). If the PSLF doesn't work out, I was thinking plan B could be the 20 year forgiveness on the PAYE. And if I go that route, I'm not limited to non-profits. Even with the PAYE 20 year forgiveness, I'd still pay about $168K vs the $200K+ I'd owe total if you calculate interest. The loan forgiveness amount is not tax free though but it still is a great deal. However, the thought of that much debt hanging over your head for 20 years can be scary.

Members don't see this ad.