pushing off internship apps for a year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ninim

Reaction score
I am considering pushing off internship applications for a year (my cohort is applying this fall) - my reasons are two fold, it's been an incredibly challenging year personally for many reasons; and I also definitely do not feel that I'm as competitive as I'd like to be for what I'm aiming for. I'm not sure if a year would make a huge difference but I could certainly work more on publications as well as adding another externship that may be more specialized, given I'm primarily interested in breaking into a speciality area I don't have enough background in. Or I could shoot my shot and apply to internships (risking to not match) and concurrently apply for externships as a back up. I'm not technically behind at all with my requirements to apply this year, and my pogram is fairly competitive/has a good reputation (students often rank at their top sites), but the more I consider this the more it feels like a good option. Has anyone done this and how did they feel about their decision hindsight?

Members don't see this ad.

There is no right answer here. Do you value just matching anywhere and getting internship done? Apply now. Do you want to slow down, take care of what is going on personally and also accomplish some more specialized training with this externship, publish some more research, and improve your application overall for a better chance at a specific match? Then wait.

I know people who have done both. And everyone ended up just fine.

Internship can be a great year, but it can also be a very hard year. Sometimes it can be a good idea to slow down. But sometimes it can be a good idea to keep your head down and just get through to the other side. Your internship match probably won't define your career.

Reactions: 2 users
If I were in your shoes, I would consider this to be a massive error.