Q about electives

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

niceguydoc

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys i'm a 2nd DO student trying to figure out how many electives i should do in anes and what to do the other electives in that would benefit me or prepare me for my anes rotation. I have a total of 4 electives before interview season, 2 in my 3rd yr and 2 in my 4th. i'm under the impresion that most people do 2 electives in anes during their 4th yrs. Now my q is, would doing 3 anes rotations be overkill or is 2 enough. someone advised me 3 would be ok since you don't want to put all your eggs in one basket. I understand most places don't offer 3rd yr away rotations, but i'm thinking maybe doing one at a local hospital in my 3rd would help me prepare for my 2 big away ones in my 4th yr - or is 2 enough?

If i end up doing just two away rotations in anes, both during my 4th years, what should i do my 2 electives in during my 3rd yr that would be beneficial for anes or just in general? I was thinking radiology for one but have no idea what to do the other one in.

Also, i'm from the nyc area and plan on going back there for residency. i know that the lower tier programs accept DO's but what about programs like cornell, columbia, mt sinai, nyu, and stony brook, etc? i've combed through all the threads in the anes forums and couldn't find anything. Does anyone actually know for a fact that those above programs have DO's in them, or should i not waste my time even ranking those programs when the time comes. Thanks for any input!!! :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.