"Quality" of Ob/Gyn Applicants

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

flashMD

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a medical student interested in Ob/Gyn. I go to a "top tier" academic program and have been meeting with a lot of faculty/advisors about Ob/Gyn. One of the comments that kind of caught me off guard from an attending was something along the lines of "why would you want to go into Ob/Gyn...the specialty just does not attract high 'quality' applicants". He then went on to say that in Ob/Gyn you are surrounded by people who are not as intellectually/academically capable...blah, blah, blah...

Just wanted to see what you guys thought about this. Has the "quality" of Ob/Gyn applicants gone down in recent years? Why have so many Ob/Gyn residency spots gone unfilled in recent years? How "malignant" is the specialty as a whole, really? How has the recent trend of more females in the specialty affected all of this?

Anyways, thought this would be an interesting discussion...

Members don't see this ad.

flashMD said:
I'm a medical student interested in Ob/Gyn. I go to a "top tier" academic program and have been meeting with a lot of faculty/advisors about Ob/Gyn. One of the comments that kind of caught me off guard from an attending was something along the lines of "why would you want to go into Ob/Gyn...the specialty just does not attract high 'quality' applicants". He then went on to say that in Ob/Gyn you are surrounded by people who are not as intellectually/academically capable...blah, blah, blah...

Just wanted to see what you guys thought about this. Has the "quality" of Ob/Gyn applicants gone down in recent years? Why have so many Ob/Gyn residency spots gone unfilled in recent years? How "malignant" is the specialty as a whole, really? How has the recent trend of more females in the specialty affected all of this?