Question about a PHD in neuropsychology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

caduceus27

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello
I am an Occupational therapy student, I am interested in pursing a PHD in neuropsychology. Since in OT we treat the same conditions that neuropsychologists treat I thought it would be a nice fit with Occupational Therapy practice. I know there is 1 school in New york that has a subprogam in neuropyschology. Does anyone know of any other programs that have specific neuropsychology programs? they can anywhere in the country

In additon Im from New York does anyone know where I can shadow a neuropsychologist thanks!!!

I apologize if my questions are posted somewhere else in this forum thanks agian!!

Members don't see this ad.

First, you are not gonna be able to shadow a neuropsychologist with a patient (unless you're a formal practicum student in training) due to patient confidentiality issues.

Neuropsychology is subdivision of clinical psych. Your Ph.D will be in clinical psych with specialty training in Npsych. You can find a list of programs offering neuropsych tracks/concentrations here.

http://www.div40.org/training/index.html

Members don't see this ad :)
There are also cognitive neuroscience programs, but I don't believe you can practice with that doctorate. The research is very innovative, though.

There are also cognitive neuroscience programs, but I don't believe you can practice with that doctorate. The research is very innovative, though.

This is quite different from clinical neuropsychology.

Thanks for the input, I wanted to ask what is the difference between neuropsychology and cognitive neuroscience.
thanks