question about applying to neuro out of a transitional year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cbuck

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Was hoping for some advice on neuro/transitional year programs - I am a Canadian medical student currently torn between the very disparate neurology and emergency med fields (appealing for very different reasons).

I understand that the SF Match freezes 1/3 of its spots in 2/3 of the programs for PGY 1 applicants. I was thinking about doing a transitional year to postpone the decision, then applying to neuro.

I'd like some advice on what my chances would be on matching to a 'top' program out of PGY 1 - do these programs intentionally keep spaces open for late blooming pgy 1 applicants or do they fill with US senior applicants?

any advice would be greatly appreciated thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

cbuck said:
Hi,

Was hoping for some advice on neuro/transitional year programs - I am a Canadian medical student currently torn between the very disparate neurology and emergency med fields (appealing for very different reasons).

I understand that the SF Match freezes 1/3 of its spots in 2/3 of the programs for PGY 1 applicants. I was thinking about doing a transitional year to postpone the decision, then applying to neuro.

I'd like some advice on what my chances would be on matching to a 'top' program out of PGY 1 - do these programs intentionally keep spaces open for late blooming pgy 1 applicants or do they fill with US senior applicants?

any advice would be greatly appreciated thanks!