question about inpatient jobs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Havent done inpatient in a while and my skills are definitely rusty compared to outpatient. Are inpatient jobs more chill compared to outpatient? Are people essentially rounding 3-4 hours then going home, and they get called if someone has a question? I guess it also depends on the unit as well. I remember when I was a resident multiple attendings would do inpatient in morning and leave by like 12 and in the state hospital, rounds were incredibly fast and patients werent even seen every day, since there wasnt even a daily note requirement. Seems like it would be a wide spectrum with some of these jobs being very cush if you have a solid support staff and others sucking if you are the support staff.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 3 users
The big cons to IP work are:
1) Patients are very sick, meds changes are expected to be very fast (i.e. before they can even reasonably be expected to work).
1a) Higher liability, higher likelihood to be threatened/harmed etc
2) Most require call, night calls are awful for physical/mental health in a field where you don't have to take call
3) Many hospitals are either for-profit and carry huge caseloads or are academic/state where the pay is lower

I do agree that there are still cush IP jobs like at state hospitals, but those do carry their own bureaucracy and slow rate of improvement for the patients. It's good and honest work though, and clearly something that needs the skills of a well-trained and diligent psychiatrist.

Reactions: 2 users
1) Patients are very sick, meds changes are expected to be very fast (i.e. before they can even reasonably be expected to work).
2) Most require call, night calls are awful for physical/mental health in a field where you don't have to take call