Question about Ocella

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlueberryMuffin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,
I'm having a dispute with my insurance company over the co-pay amount for the drug Ocella. I thought Ocella was a generic substitute for Yasmin (this is what my pharmacist told me), but my insurance company is adamant Ocella is a "brand-name substitute" for Yasmin, and therefore subject to the more expensive brand-name co-pay.

Can someone clarify this for me? I am a pathology intern and do not understand how all this pharmacy classification works. Thanks:)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there,
I'm having a dispute with my insurance company over the co-pay amount for the drug Ocella. I thought Ocella was a generic substitute for Yasmin (this is what my pharmacist told me), but my insurance company is adamant Ocella is a "brand-name substitute" for Yasmin, and therefore subject to the more expensive brand-name co-pay.

Can someone clarify this for me? I am a pathology intern and do not understand how all this pharmacy classification works. Thanks:)

Ocella is generic to Yasmin but in reality... they are more or less the same. Its made by the same manufacter, same location, same factory, and looks exactly the same.

Members don't see this ad :)
We had this issue when Ocella FIRST came out in that the systems didn't recognize it at all, so there was ZERO coverage.

This sounds different though...what happens when a drug goes off patent is a "generic manufacturer" gets 6 months exclusivity in making the drug, and more often than not, the "generic manufacturer" is actually affiliated with the original brand. I can't remember, but I swear I read that Bayer (orig. manufacturer) makes Ocella and markets through Barr (generic manufacturer). Someone double check me on that.