Question about one year of english requirement...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
B

banannamilk

Hi SDNers,
I realize that many medical schools list one year of english (or literature classes) as a prereq for admission to their program. I graduated from a university where only 5 quarter units (one class) of english class was required for my major (non-science) -- so that's how many units I have. Would anyone know what the consequences would be if I were to apply without having a full year of english classes to schools that require them? I would like to apply this summer (for fall 2005 admission), and I plan to take physics I & II, and ochem II this fall to finish all the science prereqs... if possible, I would like to "ignore" the english requirements (I'm hoping that the admissions people will say, "No english classes? Oh, don't worry, we just say on our website that we require them, but they're are not mendatory for non-science majors." Do I need to get my head out of the sand, and add two english classes to my fall load? :(
Much thanks in adavance...

Members don't see this ad.

I would take one more semester of english. I have an AP credit, which makes me take junior English (they have one for law, a general one, one for medical professions, etc). I know at UMCP, if you take freshman English (ENGL100) and recievee an 'A' your eEnglish requirement is fufilled. I was not 100% sure if some schools take AP English, and I believe a few do not count it towards the 6 credits/2 semesters, so I'm taking 1 more English class (Hebrew Bible: Narrative).

I was looing at med schools, and several didnt have an Englsih requirement, but want you to be proficent speaking and writing English. Go to www.aamc.org and look through the list of schools and find some that don't have a specific requirement.