Question about school reputations/perceptions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Marsala

Western C/O 2016!
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi-

I am new to this forum. Have read a lot of the posts, but just joined today. This is my first time applying to vet schools, and I have an interview with Tuskegee. I am excited about it, and have been trying to research things, etc. and it seems like Tuskegee doesn't get as many applicants as other schools. I am just wondering why this is? What is it about the school that excludes it from one's criteria for schools to apply to? I can't seem to find much about it. There are rankings, but I question the validity of the rankings, as the schools don't all have cookie cutter programs, and the differences make it difficult to compare. But, there are schools that get 1000 applicants, 600 applicants, and it seems like Tuskegee only has 200-300. Why the difference?

I have asked the vets and vet students that I know, and nobody seems to know much. The vets seem to think that it as good a school as the others, and that there is no difference. Does anyone have any thoughts or insight? I hope I don't get flamed for this question, as I am being sincere. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

One of the factors may be that the school does not go through VMCAS but you have to submit a separate application. Alot of OOS students may not want to take the time to fill out a whole complete separate application. I tried to go online to see if they don't accept alot of OOS students or if they require the Biology GRE, but I can't find that information on their site. Those also might be contributing factors.

The school itself is probably very well run, I have heard alot of good things about it so I wouldn't read too much into it.

OH, and very little flaming goes on here, we are all prettly well laid back!!