phinicky

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 7, 2002
dc
Visit site
Status
How much time did you spend studying for Step 2 and how many weeks off did you take for interviewing.

Thanks!!!

klubguts

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 15, 2005
the big D
Status
i studied for step 2 for about ten days (much less time and energy than step 1 studying). i had three months vacation in 4th year, took two months in dec and jan for interviewing/holidays. best of luck.

Scooby Moo

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jun 24, 2004
Houston, Texas
Status
Attending Physician
I studied for Step 2 during a really light elective rotation (going through practice questions for an hour per day for about a month.) That's about all the studying I could stand.

6 weeks set aside for interviews...

Good luck, phinicky. :thumbup:

Hercules

Son of Zeus
15+ Year Member
Jul 25, 2000
Mobile, AL
Status
Attending Physician
I spent a couple of days studying for Step 2 and just scheduled flexible rotations during interview season so I could take all of my vacation at the end of the year.

Smurfette

Gargamel always had a thing for blondes.
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Jun 6, 2001
Status
Attending Physician
Step 2: about 2 weeks (1 week of hard core, 1 week "fluffy" studying)

Interviews: took off only December (4 weeks), but should have taken off January or part of January as well. But it's hard to anticipate when your interviews will fall...non-competitive fields have more flexible interview dates than competitive ones (where you might get only a couple dates to choose from). Ask around to find out which months your chosen field tends to interview in (i.e. early match specialties, peds, etc.)

gwyn779

stargazer
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 23, 2003
soon to be Winston-Salem
Visit site
Status