Question for PA's

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

julester

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Howdy all...
I am a math teacher :sleep: considering a change into medicine. Ultimately I would like to be a PA, but I understand that experience is key for acceptance into a program (and understanding of it). Would I be wasting my time by first becoming an RN, scoping the field for a couple of years and gaining experience before going back to school or would this experience be helpful and worth the time? Any advice would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

No, I don't think it would be waste of time; I think that's a good idea.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was a high school science teacher for 18 years before applying to PA school (Gannon University) in Erie Pa. Because I had a MEd, I entered in the professional phase and will have completed the program in 2 years. OK, so I was an EMT instructor for 5 years as well which probably helped with admissions. I'd suggest contacting various schools and try to apply ASAP. Use the RN route as a plan B.

julester said:
Howdy all...
I am a math teacher :sleep: considering a change into medicine. Ultimately I would like to be a PA, but I understand that experience is key for acceptance into a program (and understanding of it). Would I be wasting my time by first becoming an RN, scoping the field for a couple of years and gaining experience before going back to school or would this experience be helpful and worth the time? Any advice would be appreciated.

Nursing would work, but it's not the only choice. If I were in your situation, I would keep my job and persue training as an EMT and work on an ambulance assisting for a while. I wouldn't go through the process to become an RN and take out more student loans only to pack up and head to PA school in the end. Do what is right for you!!! L.