Question for upper level resident

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bustbones26

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, just want to ask some advice of some of you upper level residents and perhaps any attendings cruising through on this board. I want to ask some advice from those experienced in actually doing opthalmic surgery so no offense to med students, but your advice is not welcome.

Right now, I am a neurology resident. As a neurology resident, I have become familiar with doing some detailed neuro-eye exams and have recently become fascinated by neuro-ophthalmology. I realize that since neuro-ophth is traditionally non-surgical in nature that I can easily do a fellowship in this area with a neurology background and have lately been kicking around the idea of considering this (for now at least, you know how it is, might change my mind later).

Now, the one thing I don't like about neuro-opth is that to do this, I'd probably be limited to working at an academic institution in a neuro or optho residency, or from what I understand, some private ophtho groups hire neuroophths and gladly hand over consults for optic neuritis, pseudotumor, etc to them. Unfortunately, they are pretty much limited to outpatient as they have no experience in general ophthalmology and can't take call with the group.

To be honest with you, the more I explore it, the more fascinated I am becoming with ophthalmology. This is very unfortunate as I never explored ophtho as a med student or even considered it (just thought it was competitive and didn't even think about it). But in addition to neuro-ophth, I am beggining to believe that general ophth and eye surgery might be fascinating to me too. As crazy as it sounds, I might consider a future goal as a neuro-ophth who can do general work. I.e. whole other residency in general opthalmology down the road.