Question re: becoming an ER tech...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BostonEMT

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 24 year old EMT in Boston (hence the name) who will be going back to school in the next year. I currently work for a private service but desperately want to work as an ER tech at one of the bigger Boston hospitals.

I've heard mixed things about how much one can expect to make and how easy or difficult it can be to be hired. I only have about seven months experience working as an EMT but I am very good at my job, very rarely find it challenging, and am going back to school for an undergraduate biology degree with the intention of eventually becoming a practicing clinician (possibly PA but obviously that's a long way off). I am curious if my lack of experience will make it difficult for me to be hired as a tech. Do the bigger Boston hospitals (MGH, BMC, B&W, BI, Children's) only hire techs that are paramedics or do they hire basics as well? What's the best way to impress upon them my desire to be in the ED? Is this just one of those things -- like so many others in life -- where persistence almost to the point of annoyance pays off? Anybody here working as an ER tech? In Boston? Any and all replies appreciated and thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a 24 year old EMT in Boston (hence the name) who will be going back to school in the next year. I currently work for a private service but desperately want to work as an ER tech at one of the bigger Boston hospitals.