Questions About Practice Types?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AlmostThere2

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a 3rd year student interested in psychiatry and I had a couple questions about the field. One of my goals, if I were to do psychiatry, would be to set up my own practice as I'm currently also getting my MBA. In regards to practice models, I'm a bit confused since there's so many different approaches. If someone could maybe elaborate on these different types of practices and how they function/how profitable they are and the potential for earnings/lifestyle in each of these.

Practice types I'm currently aware of:

Cash-only
-Accepting cash only at a specific set rate per visit/minutes
- What types of pts do you generally see in this setting? It seems like it would be difficult to get a strong consistent pt load where you can do this daily 9-5?

Drug check practice
- I have a family friend who has a practice that he started where he accepts nearly all forms of insurance and medicare. At this practice, he employs many psychologists, counselors, therapists, NPs, and employs up to 5 other psychiatrists as well. I believe the psychiatrists spend their time with drug checks seeing many many pts a day, while the psychologists, counselors, therapists spend more time speaking to pts.
- Is this actually profitable? I've read its difficult to get paneled with insurance companies so this must have a taken a long time to do?
- Does the person who started the practice get a cut of each employees salary, for ex. 10 or 20% of each pt visit goes to the practice or practice owner regardless of who is seeing them?
- Would it be an easier business to set up if you went the cash-only route? Is that even possible with this kind practice?

Concierge
-Being on retainer with specific pts 24/7 and accepting a high rate up front. Similar to cash