Questions about Sub-Is/Applying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rhodes

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I wanted to ask about applying for Sub-Is and for residency. I go to an osteopathic school and don't have much in the way of career advice for such a specialized field. No faculty, nothing.

I am an above average student, 242 on Step 1. I have a few publications in ophthalmology.

1) Sub-Is? How many should I apply to? I understand that there isn't any guarantee on who will accept you for a Sub-I. Being a DO muddies the water. I don't want to apply to so many Sub-Is that I have to turn down a few and potentially lose interview invites in the future. I don't have a geographic preference.

2) I read on here that it is better to work with a single ophthalmologist on a Sub-I than to work with everyone at the same time. This might lead to a better LOR. Doesn't the LOR have to come from the chair, or PD? What's your advice on how to make the most out of a Sub-I?

3) What are recommendations in terms of LORs? All ophthalmologists, or can 1 be from internal medicine or general surgery?

4) I read in the Iowa Guide about apply for prelims via the NRMP. Are these 1 year programs places you have to rotate at first, or do you just apply to them in conjunction with the SF Match.

5) I can't see the programs on ERAS yet, but I believe 2 DO programs out of 13 or so have applied for ACGME pre-accreditation. My plan is to apply to those as well if possible. I have no idea what's happening to the other programs, and neither does the AOA. If anyone has any intel in this regard, please advise.

Thank you for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!

All of this info is available on the forums, but here are my quick thoughts: