Questions for UCBSO Students

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sushingreentea

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm highly interested in Berkeley's optometry program, but what are they looking for in a candidate? I currently attend UCI (which isn't very competitive) doubling majoring in bio and business econ (possibly minoring too). My GPA isn't near the average prereq GPA listed on the website. I know I still have 1 year to bring up my GPA. Other GPA and high OAT scores, what else are they looking for? I've been working at an optometrist's office for almost a year now. I started a vision screening club on campus. Any tips on how to improve my profile?

If you went to UCI, it would be really helpful if you could provide your stats and a profile of yourself.

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi sushingreentea,

I'm a 3rd year student at UCBSO and have helped with the interview process. Besides a good pre-req GPA and OAT scores, the admissions committee is looking for a well-rounded student. Your vision screening club should score you high points and shows your commitment to optometry. During the interview, we look for how articulate you answer questions as well as how well you interact socially. We know the interviewees are nervous, but if you can make the interview seem more like a conversation, that will really impress the interviewer. We're gauging how your people skills are when you become a clinician. If possible, try your best to boost your GPA so that you are at or above the median. Each class that comes in seems to be smarter than the year before, so competition seems to be getting stiffer.

If you can, come visit Berkeley on one of our Friday visitation days. http://optometry.berkeley.edu/opt_txtpp/admissions/admittours.html