Questions from a career changer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ag44

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings all,

After serious deliberation and reading countless horror stories in internet holes, I've decided to give psychology as a career path a shot. I have no college background in psychology. I have read up on the subject in my spare time, had a few conversations with psychologists, and reflected on my own story, interests, and motivations. I plan on taking one course, perhaps two, this semester, as well as shadowing/volunteering.

I know that, being fairly ignorant of the field, I can't say for certain that this is the profession for me. Nevertheless, I do not like to go into a project, even tentatively, without having a larger, realistic vision of the prospective paths forward. Thus if you could offer any advice on how someone in my position could go about establishing a viable trajectory, I would greatly appreciate it.

If it helps to know my academic background - I am a good student. My transcript is a little odd, since I went to a school without grades, but I took a majority of my courses at schools where I received letter grades. My GPA from those courses is around 3.8. I was initially premed, but eventually switched to a more humanities-based track.

Members don't see this ad.