Quoted: Is there a way

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For the group

I have no what to do, and as I think about my future I see nothing anymore. I received my MCAT scores today and I did worse than I possibly could have thought (I didn't even score a 6 in any section). I knew that my chances of getting into med school were slim because of my 3.01 gpa do to the fact that I have a C in almost every upper division bio class I took. So i was going to apply to post bacc programs instead to try and show that I wanted this more than anything. I have the research experience and being that I personally knew no doctors, I began working in the ER my freshman year and fell in love with the idea of medicine, but I am a senior about to graduate and I feel that the only realistic dream I had isn't even a reality anymore. So I guess my question is, is there a way?

Members don't see this ad.

If becoming a physician is your dream/goal you will have to be persistent. If you are willing to work hard to reach your goal its possible. I think there are some you should strongly consider.

1. POST BAC PROGRAMS- This will strength your knowledge and GPA in the basic sciences and show that you are serious about your committment to pursuing a career in medicine. Consider applying to a well-known post-bac program such as Hopkins or U Penn b/c the name recognition alone could help your chances when you apply to medical school.

2. MCAT PREP COURSE-This will help improve your score on the MCAT drastically if you are committed to studying for the course and attending class.

3. MASTERS DEGREE- Consider pursuing an MS in biology, genetics, micro, or some other science. This will strengthen your GPA and also show persistence and committment. You may consider doing this after the post-bac program since your basic science GPA isn't that great now.