Rad onc vs. Heme/onc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sallyhasanidea

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a current phd student debating between applying into IM--> heme/onc, and rad onc. I've seen all of the talk about the job market, but I really enjoy working with cancer patients, and was wondering if it truly will be a mistake to go into rad onc. What would you do if you could go back and apply; IM or rad onc?

What worries me is the job market + whether or not there will even be jobs available when I graduate. I've seen posts saying recent grads are finding jobs in the 200k +-25k in rad onc in smaller US cities; 200k to me is a lot of money, and I wouldn't scoff at it, but I'll probably be around 450k in debt after residency. How does heme/onc salary compare to rad onc salary?

If needed to know, 250+ step1, 20+ publications, 4/5 clinical honors, no AOA, mid tier USMD. I would want to aim for a top program, but I am essentially screened out of all top tier IM programs because of my lack of AOA, so was also leaning towards rad onc because I think lower tier IM programs would prohibit me from going to a good fellowship.

What do you all think about the opportunity for private practice or to own a small group practice in heme/onc in the future. Will this still be possible, or will there be a lot of corporate ownership of heme onc practices and infusion centers?

One of the things that pushes me away from IM is that I wouldn't be able to do hospital medicine because I want to be my own boss, and would like to own a private practice at some point. Yes, I am aware of business headaches, but would much prefer that to having a boss.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: