Radiation-induced tumors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bruce Banner

Truth is Absolute
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can anyone out there give me some info on the amount of radiation it takes to induce a tumor? As an intern I've gotten hassled several times by the radiologists for CT scans they don't deem necessary. Their excuse is that an unwarranted scan will increase the risk of cancer in the future.

In one way I can see how a scan increases the RISK of radiation-induce cancer (just as stepping outside your front door increases the RISK of getting hit by lightning). However, from what I remember, radiation treatments are several 1000 times the dose any CT will deliver and the risk of us inducing a cancer is pretty low (<1% ?).

So are the radiologist full of it or what?

Members don't see this ad.

It really depends who you ask. Patient characteristics also matter. Remember, radiation carcinogenesis is a stochastic (random) effect; therefore, there is no lower threshold below which no risk exists. There is also a dose-volume effect (thus a whole body CT would be worse than a CXR, but that doesn't mean the CXR carries no risk). See this article for a worst case scenario:

DJ Brenner, EJ Hall, Computed tomography - An increasing source of radiation exposure. NEJM 357:2277-2284 (2007).

I've included a link below, but I can't remember if I have automatic login for NEJM turned on. If you can't follow it, see if your library offers full text access to NEJM (most med libraries do).

http://content.nejm.org/cgi/content/full/357/22/2277

Remember, radiation carcinogenesis is a stochastic (random) effect; therefore, there is no lower threshold below which no risk exists.

If you assume that the body doesn't have any repair mechanisms for DNA or systems to 'purge' damaged cells.