Radiology Elective - 3rd Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

studyingforever

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have no interest in going into Radiology, but I need to be more comfortable with reading films as I'm not very good at it right now. Is it better to put this elective off until completion of cores? I would have had IM, Psych and OB/Gyn complete by the time I take this elective as a 3rd year student.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

kdburton

Ulnar Deviant
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have no interest in going into Radiology, but I need to be more comfortable with reading films as I'm not very good at it right now. Is it better to put this elective off until completion of cores? I would have had IM, Psych and OB/Gyn complete by the time I take this elective as a 3rd year student.

Thanks

I did a radiology elective in the 2nd month of third year and I don't regret it one bit. The radiologist I worked with primarily read chest, abdomen and pelvic CTs as well as some plain films for MSK complaints. There were other people in my class who got paired up with like interventionalists and neuroradiologists, etc that didn't learn quite as much general radiology stuff that med students would find useful. FWIW I'm not interested in radiology either, I just did it so that I could look at films during third year and not look like an idiot. If you have limited elective time during third year and don't knwo what you want to do however then I might suggest trying something else if you know you don't want go to into radiology.

sendwich

you rock!
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score

Thanks