Raven Coloured Progressive Matrices

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KKrak002

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
A little background: I am a child psychologist, so I do not do much testing with adults. I also have very little adult neuropsych experience, apart from grad school.

A social work colleague had been given a psych report for one of their clients (age in 40s, only elementary school education) and asked my help in understanding it. There are things that stand out to me in the report (using IQ to find an age equivalent, eg. FSIQ 62= 7 year old functioning). However, my main question is in regards to the Raven, as I have no experience with this measure. This particular client is a relatively recent immigrant from the middle east and while can speak English, it is not the first language. The Raven was used to confirm that the scores obtained on the WAIS-IV were valid, as the CPM and WAIS scores were similar. My questions is whether this is the appropriate use for the Raven, and whether the norms for the Raven would be appropriate in terms of normative data for this client. This eval will be used to determine available social services for the client, so making sure the scores are valid is very important.

Any feedback or direction to resources or research on the topic will be greatly appreciated. I want to know what I am talking about so that I can help my colleague advocate for this client.

Members don't see this ad.

Have them check the AACN directory of boarded individuals in their area Directory for a quick consult. Also, no one calculates "mental age" anymore. It's inaccurate and generally less than helpful in pretty much any circumstance. If you see that used in an adult neuropsych report, you should immediately take that person off your referral list.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)