Re-apply before Master's?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2312_Lib

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I plan to reapply to medical school this cycle while I complete my masters of biomedical sciences program.

My first time applying, my GPA (~3.0) and MCAT (~490) were not competitive but my GPA did show an upward trend by the time I graduated. I've done a lot of research and got published, have great extracurriculars and volunteering hours.

I took a gap year to retake some prereqs and did some more research, volunteering, and studying for my MCAT in July. Recently, I got accepted into a masters program at GCSOM which I plan to attend.

I definitely see improvement in my MCAT studying (I took a baseline test with the AAMC 1 full length after my MCAT prep course and got to ~500). I've been reviewing and practicing taking tests for a couple of weeks now with AAMC material and I continue to see improvements. My goal is to definitely get a 502 or higher.

My concern now regards both my MCAT score and reapplying this cycle.

Reapply:
I don't want to take a gap year after my masters program again so I want to reapply this cycle before I start my Master's, but I have not been able to get feedback from anyone who has done this or been in a similar situation. If I continue to reapply, I would submit my med school mid/late July (which I understand is not the best case scenario). However, I plan to do exceptionally well in my masters program because I won't be distracted like I was in my first two years of college. So, I want to update my med application with my Masters progress so that I don't have 100% of the same stats I had during my first application.