Really messed up this semester :/

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Giselle208

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!! I am a pre-dental student at a public texas university. i just completed my sophomore year.

Grade wise here is where I am at (science grades only):

Semester 1:
Gen Chem 1: A

Semester 2:
Gen Chem 2: C
Math: A

Semester 3:
Bio 1: A
Ochem 1: B

Semester 4:
Bio 2: B
Ochem 2: C

Ugh this semester... I don't wanna sit here and make excuses. Ultimately, it boiled down to lack of time due to me having to drive home every weekend due to family and health issues which really cut into a lot of study time. Bio 2 requires a lot of studying each week to keep up and that landed ochem on the back burner and tbh, it took me too long into the semester to get a grip on time management.

So right now, my overall GPA is a 3.49 and sGPA a 3.2ish

So here are my future semester science classes:

Semester 5:
A&P 1
Biochem 1
Genetics

Semester 6:
Microbiology
Cellular Biology (not in my degree plan, taking it to help boost my sGPA since I have 2 C's!)

Summer 2019: applying to dental school
Physics 1
Physics 2
Math

Semester 7:
Biochem 2
A&P 2

I truly think I have a firm grip on my study habits now and I know I am capable of making A's in science courses! I'm not stupid and I truly do enjoy my science classes. If I make straight A's the next two semesters, my overall GPA will be around a 3.65 I believe and sGPA a 3.48 at time of application. I will submit my application and update after taking two physics courses at CC which, if I make A's, will bump sGPA up to 3.56.