really need an ENGLISH course?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

basketball

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi everyoneSo I will be writting my MCAT in August, and I was wondering if it is critical for me to take an english course before the big day.I haven't taken a single course in English, and I got around 89-90% in high school. Also, I am a sophomore, and I guess I'm a bit slow reader...Any advice is appreciated! Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

:confused: huh? Writing the MCAT? Well first, most medical schools require or at least recommend that you take some sort of english courses. Second, have you tried taking a practice verbal section of the MCAT? You will find that it does not take kindly to slow readers.

Writing a test is the British way of saying taking a test.

The first poster is correct, you have to increase your reading comprehension. I recommend reading magazines such as Time, Economist, etc. Also read classical works of literature, even things like Frankenstein and Dracula. The bottom line is just to read, read , read.

Writing a test is the British way of saying taking a test.

Oh haha, sorry. Once I read "writing" a test, I thought the OP was really lacking in terms of verbal skills. My fault.

Anyway, to further illustrate mmmcdowe's point I will give you a personal example. I was scoring around 7's when I first took the practice verbal section. After I took more practice tests and several writing/reading intensive courses last semester, I am now scoring consistent 11's. The point is, keep reading and taking practice tests; because honestly, the verbal section would be pretty brutal for you if you have not taken an english course since high school.

Members don't see this ad :)