Reapplicant looking for advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

biochem406

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

So a backstory about myself. I graduated a state school in 4 years with a major in molecular biology and double major in Psychology. I had a rough freshman year with an F in an honors seminar and an overall 3.3 GPA. I buckled down and got close to 4.0s the remaining semesters and ended up with a 3.8 cumulative gpa 3.83 science GPA and a 518 on my MCATs. I applied this year and was met by a lack of fortune. I'm not sure if it had something to do with my personal statement and secondaries or activities. I've been on a volunteer trip for clinical hours, and also shadowed two separate surgeons for 100 hours each. I have around 1500 hours of research experience. I applied to mostly top 20 schools besides, Einstein, Dartmouth, UVA, Brown, and USC. I only received 2 interviews this cycle and one rejection and a wait list.

This year off, I've been working as an associate scientist for a next gen sequencing company and also shadowed as a medical assistant as well as tutoring. I'm not sure if I should seek medical application counseling for the following year and where I went wrong and what to change. Any help would be appreciated on what I should try to change or how I should approach reapplication. Also I'm not sure what a good amount of schools this time around, I applied to 25 last cycle, or what types of schools I should apply to. I thought I had pretty solid stats last time so I'm kind of lost on this approach. I am also asian, since I'm not convinced that makes a difference. Thanks in advance for the insight.

Members don't see this ad.

Seems like you're applying way too top heavy...

This is always possible.

I'm not sure if it had something to do with my personal statement