Reapplication Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Panda Majik

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I applied during the 2009-2010 cycle and am on the waitlist for 3 schools but there's really only still hope for one at this point. I'm on the fence about whether or not to reapply since I don't have much that changed for my application.

My basic stats:
GPA: 3.55
Science GPA: 3.5
MCAT: 33Q (9 B, 14 P, 10 V)
Major: Biomedical Engineering at a top 10 ranked program

I applied pretty much last minute last year (early Oct for primaries and Nov/Dec for secondaries). I'm pretty sure that's what hurt me the most since I got 3 interviews and got put on the waitlist at those 3 places.

I graduated in Jan and have just been doing research in a lab since then (I've been working in this lab since last summer). My clinical experience is weak - only 50 hours of shadowing. I don't have much time to really improve anything.

There's also been mixed opinions on this forum about whether or not to change the PS and other parts of the application. Not much time has passed since I applied and nothing has really changed so I don't plan on changing much of the application if I do reapply.

Additionally, I got accepted into the graduate program at Duke for Engineering and am debating between whether or not to even bother applying again this year. If so I would have to do it really quick to not make the same mistake of being late with getting everything in. I don't really want to be the type of applicant that gets a MS just to stay busy without any real intent of using the degree. I'm a practical person so I feel that if I go down the graduate program route I'd probably just stick with it since it just feels like it would go to waste if I end up going to med school later.

Members don't see this ad.