Reapply DO now or wait a year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ghirahim

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a senior about to graduate with a B.S. in Cell and Developmental Biology.

I applied exclusively DO this cycle, but I applied late (primary submitted in August due to transcript stupidity, then secondaries in Oct/Nov). I had two interviews Jan/Feb. One rejection and one waitlist.

Two of the schools where I didn't interviewed said that my MCAT scores are fine, but that I should raise my GPA. One explicitly stated they did not give interviews to anyone with a GPA less than 3.4.

My stats:
cGPA= 3.29
sGPA= 3.03 (Bio courses? Awesome. Other courses? ...Not so much)
MCAT: 29 V:11 P:8 B:10

I want to get a massage therapy degree next year if I'm not pulled from the waitlist. I want to practice OMM, and I believe the skills I learn there could be useful. Potentially, I could take summer/fall courses at a different school, maybe retake some of the prereqs or something, and then complete the massage therapy degree in the spring. I'll be working either way, because it's not financially feasible for me not to.

So, if I do this, should I apply for the 2012-2013 cycle, or wait another year until I've completed all this? Or is this whole plan just stupid?

Thank you for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

You should retake your science courses and boost your GPA, obviously reapply super early. I dont see why you shouldnt reapply this year...who knows you may get in..

I am not sure this massage therapy will do much for you, its more like an EC to the adcoms, they want to see A's

Im in a similar boat as you

Wow those scores would've earned you an acceptance at at least one DO school when I applied. I'm assuming you went for the older schools.