dropshotdragon

5+ Year Member
May 27, 2009
Status
I'm a med student at a school in the northeast. I have had my CAS and all accompanying materials ready for about the last 3 weeks. The only thing I have missing is 1 rec letter from an ophthalmologist. I initially gave him 4 weeks to fill it out before reminding him about it; that was 2 weeks ago. Over the last 2 weeks, I have contacted his secretary and she said she has not heard anything from him, I have emailed him directly twice with no response. I know he is in town and seeing patients, so that can't be it.

This is a notoriously scatterbrained guy who I know is really nice and likes me a lot; this being said, I don't want to screw my chances of matching at my school or him writing me a crappy letter by me nagging him. The thing is, the whole reason I filled out my stuff early is to get a head start on the process by submitting by mid July (timestamped by SF Match early-->early interviews-->more flexibility with scheduling interviews).

Although I know this is not truly a rolling admissions process, the questions I have so that I can expedite the process are:
1)How do I approach it now that I have already contacted him 3 times so that he writes my letter soon, but at the same time I'm not stepping on his toes?
2)Does it really help when you submit early to get earlier interviews?
3)Do earlier interview offers matter at all?

Thanks for your help everyone. This is a great forum.

alleyesonme

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 25, 2007
Status
Resident [Any Field]