Recent College Graduate looking for help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NHans

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a recent graduate with a bachelor's in psychology. I have taken a few of the pre-medical requirements, but would like to retake some to boost GPA as well as a refresher (calc and linear algebra were freshman year). I was wondering what kind of program I should be looking at? I know there are career-changers, academic record-enhacers, and now recently the SMP's.

Also, I've read about some people taking the MCAT's before entering into a post-baccalaureate program. Is this something I should look into? This doesn't immediately make sense to me as doesn't the MCAT draw on knowledge obtained from the very courses a post-bac offers?

Also, are GRE scores important in admissions in any of the above programs?

Thanks for all the help, I'm new to this whole scenario.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I'm a recent graduate with a bachelor's in psychology. I have taken a few of the pre-medical requirements, but would like to retake some to boost GPA as well as a refresher (calc and linear algebra were freshman year). I was wondering what kind of program I should be looking at? I know there are career-changers, academic record-enhacers, and now recently the SMP's.

I think it's too early for you to look at AE specific programs and SMPs if you haven't finished most or all the pre-req requirements. You also wouldn't qualify for the pure non-traditional formal programs for pre-med either because you have "some' science background.

You need a hybrid AE/pre-med program that allows students who have completed some but not all of the pre-requisites and allow you to take upper division ones in addition as well. Another option is for you to take them at a local 4 year university as an informal post-bacc if you do not wish to enroll in a formal program.