Rejected from Midwestern MABS Program what to do next?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

URMpremed

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a non traditional student with a low undergrad GPA 2.75 and a low MCAT. I want to apply to DO school but I know I have no chance in hell of getting into a med school with bare minimum GPA especially after being rejected from Midwestern. I guess I am just asking where should I go from here? Should I just go to a community college retake the sciences courses I received low grades in or find another masters program. I am already retaking my MCAT in April. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

Definitely retake and get both GPA >3.2 and an MCAT of 25+ and you should be able to find an Osteopathic college willing to accept you. I wouldn't recommend community college for retakes though.

Thanks. So you suggest I go back to my alma mater to retake my basic sciences?

Members don't see this ad :)
Basic Science Courses that I have taken with grades:

Gen Chem I: A , Gen Chem II: B
Orgo I: C, Orgo II: D
Physics I& II: C
General Bios I & II: C
Biochemistry: B
Physiology I & II: C

2.75 is bare minimum and with the listed grades for basic sciencies you have to prove to any medical school that you have changed, got smarter, improved your study habits and capable of scoring better than C average in study-intensive disciplines.

Aside from retaking and impoving dismal basic science grades, I wager it would go a long way to take upper division sciences to show that you can do well with unfamiliar complex material and not just someone who can beat the dead horse until they get an A.