Rental Property Strategy Advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mobiaz

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Newly thinking of investing in rental properties. I was wanting to buy a rental outright for approximately $300,000. Then immediately buy a second. I am figuring about $1,500 a month rent from each and I have about $5,000 per month to help pay down the mortgage on the second home. I figure I could have the second home paid off in about 3 years. From then I can buy a third rental which with the three rental incomes at approximately $1,500 each ($4,500) total I would have about $10,000 per month to pay off the third.

I would plan to just continue this trend until I have a reasonable amount of rentals that could grow on their own and then focus the $5,000.00 per month I was investing on top of the rentals elsewhere.

I am completely new to rentals and don't know what I don't know. I am just trying to educate myself and learn before I actually take the leap.

Thanks for any advice.

Members don't see this ad.

You're assuming that the properties will be occupied each month and won't require any maintenance.

My mother currently has a rental property across the country and hasn't seen a full rent check in several months because there have been a number of repairs on the house, and the tenant is chronically late with rent payments. Trying to get someone evicted is also a long process, so if someone inhabits and doesn't pay the rent for a few months, it's not like you can kick them out immediately and then rent out the next day.

So my advice is to only purchase properties that you can afford to pay the mortgage and repairs and any funds for a management company on without getting a rental income.

Reactions: 1 user