Research Dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RNtoPhysician

Reaction score
Hello All!

I am a newly accepted student to medical school. I have a current dilemma with my research experience. In March of this year, when I was finishing my prereqs, I took a biochemistry class and thought it would interesting to try out research since I have not previously done any research. The professor that taught the class does research and I joined his laboratory. I have been able to work with him since June but I found out that he does mostly teaching now and is really only 10-20% research. I am currently doing the research on a volunteer basis as he does not have any funding currently to pay me.

I am just wondering if I should look for other research opportunities where I could be getting paid? I had read on other threads that there are plenty of places to go and get research and get paid for it. The other reason why it is a dilemma is that I am non-traditional as I have worked as a registered nurse these last two years. The pay I would get would be much less than what I get paid as a nurse.

What do you guys think or what suggestions do you have or what questions do you have?

Members don't see this ad.

Lol so obviously if you’re expecting to paid to do research you’re gonna be in for a rude awakening. Most students volunteer their time to do research with the aim of getting published.

Paid research is rare but not impossible, but I wouldn’t make that a top priority during med school. Get research that aligns with your specialty interests. Any pay is a drop in the bucket when compared to attending salary.

Reactions: 1 user
I have been doing research for years throughout undergrad, medical school, and now residency. I have never been paid for it and do it in my own time. In fact, I expect not to be paid for it until I'm an attending.

Stick with this if you like it.

Reactions: 1 users