Research for Pre-Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Research under Professor in med school or famous hospital like Cleveland Clinic?

• Total voters

Student1222

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just had a question about research. I am a pre-med student, that is in my junior year currently. I am currently doing research, but looking to move to a different department for research. I was wondering whether it would be good to do research under a professor in a medical school or do a research under a doctor in a famous hospital like Cleveland Clinic?

I am asking about this because I heard some people were rejected from a lot of the med school, but got into the med school that he/she did research for. Of course, you would have to do well, but would it be better to do research in a med school or a famous hospital like Cleveland Clinic?

Also, I do not have the highest GPA make a difference?

Members don't see this ad.

It would be best to do research where you will learn the most and be as productive as possible.

Not exactly sure what you're asking about GPA, but it is arguably the single most important factor of your application.

Don't focus on research if your GPA is lacking. Make sure your GPA is fine and you have a firm grip on your classes before you engage in any research even if this means you need to take a year off before applying to med school.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Don't focus on research if your GPA is lacking. Make sure your GPA is fine and you have a firm grip on your classes before you engage in any research even if this means you need to take a year off before applying to med school.