Research Importance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HappEness

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have one semester of research experience in a stem cell GI lab. I was just a research assistant, helping out with PCRs, cryosectioning, and staining. I did not get on a publication nor lead a research project. I am an incoming junior applying for medical school next June (2018). Should I be involved in more research or is one semester of research enough to successfully get into med school (assuming grades and MCAT are 93+ percentile, recs are good, and interview goes smoothly)? I am just looking for a "safe" option. Also, how much would it help me to get a paper published? (Is it viewed favorably or too common?)

Thank you all for your help. Just a little background, I am a first generation college student at UC Berkeley.

Members don't see this ad.

I have one semester of research experience in a stem cell GI lab. I was just a research assistant, helping out with PCRs, cryosectioning, and staining. I did not get on a publication nor lead a research project. I am an incoming junior applying for medical school next June (2018). Should I be involved in more research or is one semester of research enough to successfully get into med school (assuming grades and MCAT are 93+ percentile, recs are good, and interview goes smoothly)? I am just looking for a "safe" option. Also, how much would it help me to get a paper published? (Is it viewed favorably or too common?)