Research in Rad Onc vs. Other Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AD2020

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been reading through the list of successful matches in rad onc this year, and two things surprised me: (1) that so many people said they had LORs from very well known rad oncologists and (2) that about 80% had research within rad onc.

I'm a second year student and I've done research in two fields: nuclear medicine (where I have a first-author paper and a number of abstracts/presentations) and GI cancer (abstract and presentation).

The nuclear medicine research I did is leading to a clinical trial in radioimmunotherapy - specifically, treatment of metastatic melanoma with radio-labeled antibodies. My impression is that this is related to rad onc, but where is the line is drawn between rad onc and nuc med?

I think my research establishes that I'm very interested in oncology, but I'm worried that since it isn't in rad onc that it won't hold the same weight. My school does have a rad onc dept but I haven't gotten involved in it at all - any suggestions as to what's the best way to get involved? (I don't really have time to start new research, although I could take a year off in between 3rd and 4th year.)

Thanks in advance for your help. :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

AD2020 said:
The nuclear medicine research I did is leading to a clinical trial in radioimmunotherapy - specifically, treatment of metastatic melanoma with radio-labeled antibodies. My impression is that this is related to rad onc, but where is the line is drawn between rad onc and nuc med?