Research Professor Dilemma- Input Request

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drslc134

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Well, I have a dilemma, as mentioned in the title of the thread. Since many of you have experience in research and dealing with research professors (as do I, but not in this situation)

First note: I am currently a freshman in college, and will not be around during the summer. There are ~4 weeks left in the quarter.

The Story: I emailed a well-regarded professor about prospective research opportunities within a grant that expires in september, regarding Genetic Epidemiology of Cardiovascular Disease. Now, I was interested specifically in this research, because there was opportunity for lab-based research in addition to the opportunity to see beyond the lab setting (hence, epidemiology) and examine the human condition in a larger scale. The professor was quite nice in his response to my lengthy preliminary email, and but said to wait till the end of the month as much more will become clear by then (w/ regard to the future of this specific research). The professor is in the Department of Preventative Medicine, and does not really have many other projects that stand out to me, however, he did mention he would talk to his colleagues about my situation.

Now, I have found another professor, who I am very interested in his work. It is in the Department of Cardiovascular Medicine, and he has an NIH grant for a project that I would be quite excited about joining, that will last through 2008 (my graduation year).