Research Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dayfed

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a freshman and am interested in starting to do research. The problem is that I have been emailing professors left and right about opportunities, trying to get volunteer or paid work in a lab, but I haven't gotten any responses. Should I just keep trying? I've only contacted Neuroscience Researchers, since that is my major. Should I contact other professors in different labs like Biology, Chemistry, and Psychology? I think some of this is due to the fact that I go to a large research university. I always thought that helped me, but maybe it's a negative because of so much competition.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I'm a freshman and am interested in starting to do research. The problem is that I have been emailing professors left and right about opportunities, trying to get volunteer or paid work in a lab, but I haven't gotten any responses. Should I just keep trying? I've only contacted Neuroscience Researchers, since that is my major. Should I contact other professors in different labs like Biology, Chemistry, and Psychology? I think some of this is due to the fact that I go to a large research university. I always thought that helped me, but maybe it's a negative because of so much competition.

Keep trying. The fact that you're a freshmen may be the inhibiting factor.

Getting a research job requires a lot of dedication to pestering professors, try to make it in a good way though. Make sure you read up on their articles and write them a little something about what makes you interested in their work.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello,