Research subject for pre-MSTP student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bend

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all. I'm a premed sophomore (Nutrition Science major) planning on applying to some MSTP programs. I'm hoping to do a Ph.D. in Epidemiology (one of my big interests). I'm taking the basic epi classes my school offers and hope to get some research experience in that field soon.

In the meantime, I've been doing research at my school's Water Research Lab for a year now. Without getting too boring or specific...our research is basically the application of computer science to hydrology, and developing software and data systems for processing hydrologic data. My mentor has a Ph.D. in civil engineering. It's interesting but not related to medicine or basic science by any means. I'm planning on staying here until I graduate which will make 3 years, I have a lot of independence and make major contributions to our research and development, and have a few projects nearing completion with the potential to get published - possibly even a first author.

My question - is my research experience going to be enough to be considered for MSTP programs, or are they going to want to see more medically related and/or laboratory oriented research?

Thanks for your input!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello all. I'm a premed sophomore (Nutrition Science major) planning on applying to some MSTP programs. I'm hoping to do a Ph.D. in Epidemiology (one of my big interests). I'm taking the basic epi classes my school offers and hope to get some research experience in that field soon.