Research with a DO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TreyA

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I think this has been discussed a little already....but I thought I'd ask,

I've been pre-med for a while, and in my senior year I got interested in research. I started to wonder if I wanted to peruse a research career instead. So I graduated in May, and just started a research assistant job. I have a delayed acceptance for the fall of 2010 at an osteopathic school, and I am not sure if I should try to reapply to MD schools while I am working. I am not sure because it seems like researching as a MD is more possible than as a DO...I was just wondering if anyone knew about this...

They also offer a DO/PhD program, but I didn't know how common this degree was either.

Thanks for the info :D

Members don't see this ad.

I am a dual degree student at Oklahoma State: DO/MS in Biomedical Science. Most Osteopathic medical schools are involved in research in one way or another. You should search for a school that is conducting research that interests you, then contact the particular individual of interest and discuss your concerns/goals with them. The DO/PhD might be less common than the MD/PhD, but it is by no means a lesser degree.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am a DO student, and I am doing research this summer at Grady Memorial (through Emory emergency medicine).

What my experienec has been is that if you are willing to work your ass off, someone will be willing to put you to work.

So I think this has been discussed a little already....but I thought I'd ask,